AGMA Announces 2023 Award Winners at 2023 Annual Meeting

March 21, 2023, Alexandria, VA — The American Gear Manufacturers Association (AGMA) recently concluded the 2023 Annual Meeting which took place in Lake Buena Vista, Florida, from March 16th through 18th. Over the course of the meeting’s three-day duration, three people were presented with AGMA awards.

Distinguished Service Award Recipient

Michael McKernin, COO, Milan’s Machining & Gear Manufacturing Company, Inc., received the Distinguished Service Award for his meritorious contributions to the industry and association.

The Distinguished Service Award is presented by the American Gear Manufacturers Association to individuals:

  • Who advanced the state of the gear industry through many years of dedicated work.
  • Whose efforts and achievements have significantly benefited the gear industry and its end users.
  • Whose contributions have had positive impact on the successful application of gearing systems,
  • Who has unselfishly shared their knowledge and experience to the benefit of others.
  • Who has exemplified technical leadership and professional integrity.
  • Who has earned the respect and admiration of their peers and industry colleagues.

Chairman’s Award Recipient

Gordon New, Managing Director (Retired), Ronson Gears Pty., Ltd. received the Chairman’s Award for his career-long dedication to the association and the industry.

The Chairman’s Award is presented by the American Gear Manufacturers Association to individuals who have:

  • Contributed in a meaningful way to the promotion of the gear industry.
  • Acted above and beyond the call of duty to support AGMA.
  • Acted unselfishly by getting the job done.
  • Tirelessly supported and promoted the organization.
  • Advanced the goals of AGMA and the gear industry through work done on behalf of the organization.
  • Led or supported a major initiative with the organization.

Next-Generation Award Recipient

Corinna Draghi, Engineer, Atlanta Gear Works, Inc., was presented with the Next-Generation Award. This award honors an up-and-coming leader that has done innovative work and significantly contributed to the betterment of the gear industry and AGMA.

“For over a century, AGMA has been blessed with outstanding membership. Time and again, we have seen gear industry professionals at different points in their professional careers go above and beyond to support growth, foster innovation, and create positive, meaningful connections,” stated Matthew Croson, President, AGMA. “It is our pleasure at AGMA to honor individuals like Michael McKernin, Gordon New, and Corinna Draghi for their contributions.”


About AGMA

The American Gear Manufacturers Association is a voluntary association of companies, consultants and academicians with a direct interest in the design, manufacture and application of gears, couplings and related power transmission components and equipment. The members include gear manufacturers from the United States, Mexico and Canada, as well as gearing interests from more than 30 countries around the world. AGMA is accredited by the American National Standards Institute to write all U.S. standards on gearing. AGMA is also the Secretary for Technical Committee 60 of the International Organization for Standardization (ISO). TC 60 is the committee responsible for developing all international gearing standards. In addition to the holding the position of Secretariat, AGMA convenes the active ISO Working Groups related to gear inspection and testing.